My new hair Journey/hainey

I have finally decided what to do with my mini afro which doesn’t include frying it with relaxers or traumatizing it with weaves. If you have read some of my posts you will know that I happen to be a staunch supporter of keeping your own hair and having it as African as you possibly can when you are a black person and one of the reasons to that is that I fear that black sisters are looking more and more like their white counterparts, we don’t look black anymore and we don’t own our identity as we did before and that worries me because I don’t want tomorrows generation to lose track of not only our cultures but our physical identity, our looks as Africans or to lack pride in their original god given looks, what with skin bleaching and all. So I decided to rock an afro not only to look unique as an individual but also to preserve my identity as an African woman.

Now having an afro, or at least trying to have one, has not been as easy as I anticipated it to be. I didn’t know the right products to use, my hair was breaking on certain parts of my head, it was dry and almost impossible to run a comb through and so I came to the decision to have it dread locked. Now I haven’t always noticed dreadlocks, they were just one of those things that look good on certain people but I never imagined them on my head but alas, I have found myself falling in love with the hairstyle in the past couple of weeks. Now I am aware that dreadlocks are a lifetime commitment, Im not expecting this new hair journey to be easy but I imagine that my hair will rejoice at the peace of not having an afro comb disturbing it every morning and I will certainly enjoy the comfort of having someone else, an expert worry about my hair and its healthiness. I’ve always wanted long hair and I have given up the idea of having it on my own and well, we all know that weaves aren’t exactly my cup of coffee so we are getting dreadlocked darlings! I just love the versatility in them as well because while doing my research on them I found out that dreadlocks can be braided, twisted and dyed and I wonder how long it will take to get them to be very long? Let me go do my research while you look at these pictures below and see different dreadlocks and their styles, do you have dreadlocks? What type, how long, do you think I should get them and which hair salon in Johannesburg can you recommend? Enjoy the rest of your Tuesday darlings.

I like the colour and size of these ones, think this will suit me

I like the colour and size of these ones, think this will suit me

Im not too sure about these huge ones Bob Marley is rocking, what do you think?

Im not too sure about these huge ones Bob Marley is rocking, what do you think?

Thin dreadlocks and Mohawked dreadlocks, beautiful but i dont like the thinness

Thin dreadlocks and Mohawked dreadlocks, beautiful but i dont like the thinness

i couldnt help but add one of my favourite singers, Latoya Mangezi and i love the other gals updo

i couldnt help but add one of my favourite singers, Latoya Mangezi and i love the other gals updo

3 thoughts on “My new hair Journey/hainey

  1. We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our
    community. Your website provided us with valuable information to
    work on. You have done an impressive job and our whole
    community will be thankful to you.

Leave a comment