Beauty Tip of the week

Its that time of the week when I give you one very valuable and affordable tip that will hopefully help you sail in to the weekend with ease and make you look even more beautiful than you already are. This beauty tip is something that I heard about a long time ago and try when desperation calls so trust me, this works no matter how brutal it might seem. Ever heard that vaseline is the ultimate gift from God to black girls? Well believe it cause its true beautiful black sister! Black women have used vaseline over the years as a skin moisturizer, lip balm, hair moisturizer, hell we even use vaseline to keep away the cold! I remember weekday mornings when I was in primary and my mother would never let me leave the house without a good smearing of vaseline on my face and all over my body but I believed her when she said its going to keep me warm and now as an adult I find myself questioning the validity of that as I see primary school children looking as shiny as Igwinya fresh out an oil filled pan and I wonder, does vaseline really work or did our parents just enjoy making us look like the poster children for cooking oil while keeping us away from their scented dawn jars? Oh well that’s research for another day, today we are talking about beauty and the bottle, the vaseline bottle of course!

It is said that vaseline is great when used as eye makeup remover but since I haven’t tried that, I can’t say much about it so how about you try using vaseline to remove your eye makeup and tell me whether it works or not? I promise to try it too so relax, I’m not sending you in to the valley of the unknown by yourself girlfriend! Vaseline is cheap, easily attainable (chances are you already have it in your bathroom cabinet) and its easy to use so the more uses there are for it, the better for black girls on a budget, hell even white girls on a budget fit in here because today’s tip is not skin nor race specific, its universal and yes girls that means your man can use it too if he has scaly, chapped lips that are rather hard or rough to taste. Enough of the preaching and let’s get down to the business of using it.

Step One – Smear on a thick layer of vaseline but make sure that its even on your lips.

Step Two – Take your toothbrush (Yes the one you use for your teeth) to massage or gently brush on your vaselined lips.

Step Three – Wipe it off with a tissue and run some water on your lips to feel the smoothness, not only do they feel better they look better don’t they?

This tip is cheap, easy to do and it includes ingredients or accessories that you already have in your house and I doubt that most of you have found a solution further than your lip gloss or Zambuk (another gift to the black nation, especially men) for you dry, chapped lips. So let’s experiment together and get our lips looking and feeling beautiful without spending a cent! Share your thoughts and tell your friends and have yourself a beautifilled weekend my lovelies!

Leave a comment